Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
MWGL Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.9 MWGL Forums > Technical Support > Hardware > Abit IC7-G
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread   
Mizzouri
Super Moderator

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 426

Abit IC7-G quote:

Kagato, I see you run the same board I do. PM me as I have a couple of 'q's reagarding your BIOS setup. Thanks.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-19-2004 02:41 AM
Mizzouri is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Mizzouri Click here to Send Mizzouri a Private Message Click Here to Email Mizzouri Find more posts by Mizzouri Add Mizzouri to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Squirre1
|MwGL| Founder/Leader

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 1055

quote:

Why not ask them in here and share the knowledge...

__________________
"Men who experience an erection for more than four hours should seek immediate medical attention."

Levitra Commercial :P

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-19-2004 08:32 AM
Squirre1 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Squirre1 Click here to Send Squirre1 a Private Message Click Here to Email Squirre1 Visit Squirre1's homepage! Find more posts by Squirre1 Add Squirre1 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Anthos
|MwGL| Wicked Sick Admin

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 630

quote:

We don't need no stinkin' knowledge in here!

__________________


Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.




Nobody wins in a quick-draw contest.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-19-2004 04:41 PM
Anthos is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Anthos Click here to Send Anthos a Private Message Click Here to Email Anthos Visit Anthos's homepage! Find more posts by Anthos Add Anthos to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
KCShadowDragon
Phear teh 3vil Duckie

Registered: Jan 2003
Location:
Posts: 306

quote:

Knowledge is from the DEVIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

__________________
-- 1f u c4n r34d t41s u r34lly n33d t0 g3t l41d.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-19-2004 06:44 PM
KCShadowDragon is offline Click Here to See the Profile for KCShadowDragon Click here to Send KCShadowDragon a Private Message Click Here to Email KCShadowDragon Visit KCShadowDragon's homepage! Find more posts by KCShadowDragon Add KCShadowDragon to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Kagato
Lord Master Smacktard

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 261

quote:

What settings in particular?

__________________
Madness does not always howl. Sometimes, it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, "'Hey, is there room in your head for one more?" -- Despair.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-19-2004 08:02 PM
Kagato is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Kagato Click here to Send Kagato a Private Message Visit Kagato's homepage! Find more posts by Kagato Add Kagato to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
WaRMaN
Administrator

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 227

quote:

It's not polite to ask one how to store pron on the ROM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-19-2004 08:03 PM
WaRMaN is offline Click Here to See the Profile for WaRMaN Click here to Send WaRMaN a Private Message Click Here to Email WaRMaN Visit WaRMaN's homepage! Find more posts by WaRMaN Add WaRMaN to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Mizzouri
Super Moderator

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 426

quote:

For starters:

2.8GHz 800fsb
1GB Mushkin PC3500
Abit IC7-G
Nvidia 5900 128MB
WD 10,000rpm hd

I built a nearly identical system for a friend though he has the ATI 9800 AIW. Both cpus can clock easily to 225MHz bus but at this point I have to turn the ram down from Streetracer to normal. At 220MHz I can run in turbo. The biggest question I have is how in the heck can I get the machine to run the AGP bus to run higher than 66MHz? I know 'how' to do it, it's just that the system won't boot. This is a new one to me as it has always been really easy to get the AGP/PCI bus to clock considerbaly higher, even on crappy hardware. This holds true when the system is barely clocked at all (205MHz). Any sage advice or general tips for this board would be nice. Thanks!

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-22-2004 11:37 PM
Mizzouri is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Mizzouri Click here to Send Mizzouri a Private Message Click Here to Email Mizzouri Find more posts by Mizzouri Add Mizzouri to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Kagato
Lord Master Smacktard

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 261

quote:

quote:
Originally posted by Mizzouri
For starters:

2.8GHz 800fsb
1GB Mushkin PC3500
Abit IC7-G
Nvidia 5900 128MB
WD 10,000rpm hd

I built a nearly identical system for a friend though he has the ATI 9800 AIW. Both cpus can clock easily to 225MHz bus but at this point I have to turn the ram down from Streetracer to normal. At 220MHz I can run in turbo. The biggest question I have is how in the heck can I get the machine to run the AGP bus to run higher than 66MHz? I know 'how' to do it, it's just that the system won't boot. This is a new one to me as it has always been really easy to get the AGP/PCI bus to clock considerbaly higher, even on crappy hardware. This holds true when the system is barely clocked at all (205MHz). Any sage advice or general tips for this board would be nice. Thanks!



Typically you don't want to be running the AGP bus, and more importantly PCI, beyond 66MHz/33MHz range - ATI's are especially picky about this any more. Some folks have gotten away with around 72MHz, but that is in some extreme overclocking (300MHz +) with a huge array of voltage mods and mosfet cooling changes . Anything beyond 69Mhz though is just asking for instability and other issues. The MAXII's are known to undervolt on AGP, so it may help bumping that up to like 1.6V.

To get any decent overclocks on memory, you'll have to turn off the GAT options and hardset them, along with memory timings. I know on the GAT, first three of mine are set to AUTO, and the last two are Disabled. With your PC3500 memory, I would think you'd be able to run 1:1 to around the 230-240MHz mark, not 100% though, I've only worked with PC3200 and PC4000+ so I'm not sure where a 3500's "max limit" is before you'd have to start using a 3:2 or 5:4 divider.

__________________
Madness does not always howl. Sometimes, it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, "'Hey, is there room in your head for one more?" -- Despair.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-23-2004 07:58 AM
Kagato is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Kagato Click here to Send Kagato a Private Message Visit Kagato's homepage! Find more posts by Kagato Add Kagato to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Kagato
Lord Master Smacktard

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 261

quote:

Oh, and I run my memory timings at 3-4-4-8 @ ~266MHz ...

__________________
Madness does not always howl. Sometimes, it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, "'Hey, is there room in your head for one more?" -- Despair.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-24-2004 08:36 PM
Kagato is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Kagato Click here to Send Kagato a Private Message Visit Kagato's homepage! Find more posts by Kagato Add Kagato to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Mizzouri
Super Moderator

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 426

quote:

Cool. I see that I'm just about maxed then already. Thanks for your input.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-25-2004 04:58 AM
Mizzouri is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Mizzouri Click here to Send Mizzouri a Private Message Click Here to Email Mizzouri Find more posts by Mizzouri Add Mizzouri to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Kagato
Lord Master Smacktard

Registered: Oct 2001
Location:
Posts: 261

quote:

I could likely push farther with some better memory or moving from 1:1, but the IC7's are known to have issues with using the dividers (3:2 and 5:4) above the 260MHz range. I'd like to get some of the OCZ PC4200 EL memory and see what she can do.

__________________
Madness does not always howl. Sometimes, it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, "'Hey, is there room in your head for one more?" -- Despair.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-25-2004 04:26 PM
Kagato is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Kagato Click here to Send Kagato a Private Message Visit Kagato's homepage! Find more posts by Kagato Add Kagato to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Mizzouri
Super Moderator

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 426

quote:

Yup, good fast memory seems to be the limiting point for the P4s. I'm extremely satisfied with this new machine.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-25-2004 11:40 PM
Mizzouri is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Mizzouri Click here to Send Mizzouri a Private Message Click Here to Email Mizzouri Find more posts by Mizzouri Add Mizzouri to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are Central. The time now is 03:31 PM. Post New Thread   
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread ]

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - MWGL Homepage >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2002, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.